The American School in SwitzerlandThe American School in Switzerland

Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award

Since the fall of 2021, TASIS has been proud to be a licensed Independent Award Center for the Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award, a world-renowned education program that challenges young people to dream big, celebrate their achievements, and make a difference in the world. 

The prestigious Award, which is recognized and offered in more than 130 countries, has various tiers based on age and commitment and requires students to demonstrate prolonged commitment in four major areas: Physical Recreation, Skills, Service, and independently-planned Adventurous Journey. TASIS students will be eligible to pursue the Award at the Bronze (must be 14 or older), Silver (15 or older), or Gold (16 or older) level. (Gold Award participants must also complete a Gold Residential Project.) Learn more about the framework.

While the International Baccalaureate Diploma Program requires students to meet similar (but less stringent) requirements through its ​​Creativity, Activity, Service (CAS) element, adding the Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award to the TASIS portfolio has provided non-IB students with a significant opportunity to stretch themselves and enrich their college applications. (IB students are also more than welcome to pursue the Award.)

Academic Travel Director Natalie Philpot is the Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award Coordinator at TASIS, and volunteer faculty members serve as award leaders and mentors. The ultimate burden falls on the students to meet all requirements if they wish to receive the Award at their targeted level.

Students who would like to learn more or begin their journey toward achieving a Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award should contact Ms. Philpot.

TASIS Duke of Edinburgh's International Award Recipients

Claudia Clarke ’23 (Bronze)
Nitya Dalmia ’23 (Bronze)
Emmanuel Lemelson ’24 (Bronze)
Agnese Salvatico ’24 (Bronze)
Caroline Titland ’24 (Bronze)
Caroline Krajicek ’23 (Bronze)
Michael Maffe '24 (Bronze)