The American School in SwitzerlandThe American School in Switzerland

Custom Class: map-container-2

Legend

Lanterna
Fiammetta
Ca Gioia
Alba
Belvedere
Balmelli
Del Sole
Ca Piccola
Aurora
M.Crist Fleming Library/Piazza
Monticello
Palestra
Ferit Sahenk Arts Center
John E. Palmer Cultural Center
Campo Science Centre
Parking
Casetta
Villa De Nobili
Casa Fleming
College Counseling
Giani
Scuderia
Coach House
Hadsall
Giardinetto

Focolare

Focolare

360° Campus Tour

Map Points 2

Lanterna

Completed in 2012, Lanterna was named for the lantern that crowns the vaulted stair passage, and for the lamp in the TASIS crest. Like the buildings on campus named for the sun (Alba, Aurora, Del Sole), this building makes the crest a living place, culminating the hillside Global Village.

Fiammetta

Sharing a name with one of the best-preserved small palazzi of Rome, Fiammetta's name also refers to the flame rising from the lamp of the TASIS crest.

Ca' Gioia

Ca’ Gioia houses three High School classrooms and a faculty workroom.

Alba

Alba has been renovated into three Middle School classrooms.

Belvedere

Belvedere is the hub of the Middle School. This impressive building includes two large classrooms, the Middle School dormitory, faculty apartments, administrative offices, and common spaces.

Balmelli

With a grand position at the top of the campus, Balmelli is dormitory and contains two faculty apartment.

Del Sole

Renovated in 2000, Del Sole includes the 12th-Grade-boys dormitory, a common room, and two faculty residences.

Ca' Piccola

Ca' Piccola sits adjacent to Del Sole and serves as a boys dormitory.

Aurora

Built in 2006, Aurora, or 'Dawn', sits high on the hill like the rising sun. Its color refers to Homer's common description of 'rosy-fingered dawn'.

M.Crist Fleming Library/Piazza

The impressive M. Crist Fleming Library was completed in 2004. The area in front of the library is officially the M. Crist Fleming Piazza and serves as a meeting space for students between classes and after school.

Monticello

Monticello was built in 1987 and houses ten classrooms, two computer labs, a girls dorm, and two faculty residences.

Palestra

Built in 1999, the handsome and spacious Palestra was designed by Master Architect David Mayernik and the first building to be completed in the TASIS Global Village.

Ferit Şahenk Arts Center

Thanks to a most generous gift from Ferit Şahenk '83, the Şahenk Arts Center serves as the hub of the Arts at TASIS.

John E. Palmer Cultural Center

Designed by Master Architect David Mayernik and built in 2009, the Palmer Cultural Center is named for alumnus John E. Palmer ’64, who generously left his entire estate to TASIS in gratitude for his experience.

Campo Science Center

The Campo Science Center was completed and ready for use in September 2014. It houses eight science laboratories: the Helsinn Chemistry Laboratory and Prep Room, Biology, Physics, and Environmental Science laboratories, two Middle School Science laboratories, and two regular classrooms.

Parking

The current parking lot sits near the entrance of the school.

Casetta

Dating from the 18th century, charming Casetta has served as the school pastor's residence, a small dorm, and a faculty apartment. Currently, this building houses the offices of the School's Curriculum Coordinator and two Department Heads.

Villa De Nobili

The most iconic building on campus, Villa De Nobili dates from 1680 and has been an important residence for key players in major historical events, from Italian unification to the two World Wars.

Casa Fleming

With a tower dating from the 15th century, Casa Fleming was the longtime home of TASIS Founder M. Crist Fleming (1910-2009). It initially served as Villa de Nobili's guest quarters, greenhouse, and tool shed, and now houses the School's alumni and communications offices and the Chairman of the Board's Office.

College Counseling

Tucked in a quaint stone building in the adjoining neighborhood of Certenago, the College Counseling Office is a popular spot for juniors and seniors.

Giani

Giani, built in 1659, serves as a boys’ dorm with two faculty residences, and is located in the cobbled square of the nucleus of Certenago, the village adjacent to the TASIS campus.

Scuderia

Built in 1614 as stables for Villa de Nobili, Scuderia was first transformed into the private residence for the Principessa di Patti.

Coach House

Originally built as the carriage house for Hadsall, Coach House was once the hub of visual arts on campus. Extended in 2000, it now houses the Elementary School art classroom and two Elementary School classrooms.

Hadsall

Built as Villa Tamigi and once the seat of the British Consulate in Ticino, Hadsall has included dormitory space, a theater, and a snack bar. Currently this building serves as the Elementary School base, including classrooms for Grades 2-4, lunch room, library, and administrative offices.

Giardinetto

Built as Villa de Nobili’s gardener’s home, Giardinetto houses the ES computer classroom and the Learning Support Center for all divisions of the School.

Focolare

Located 200 meters down the hill from the main campus, Focolare was renovated in 2007 and serves as a self-contained center for our youngest Elementary School students.