The American School in SwitzerlandThe American School in Switzerland
TASIS Inducts Four Students to Cum Laude Society Chapter

In a virtual Academic Awards Assembly on the afternoon of May 17, High School Academic Dean Dr. Mark Abisi announced that four TASIS juniors—Anastasia Besanidou, Alejandra Cova, Alexia Dochnal, and Maria Mochalnikova—have been inducted to the TASIS Cum Laude Society chapter. Congratulations to these exceptional scholars for this prestigious honor.

Founded in 1906, the Cum Laude Society aims to promote learning and sound scholarship in secondary schools while recognizing exceptional scholastic achievement. Unlike the National Honor Society, which primarily works with public high schools in North America and strongly considers a student’s leadership, service, and character, the Cum Laude Society places its greatest emphasis on a student’s scholarly contributions to his or her school. 

Dr. Abisi, who serves as the President of the TASIS chapter, sent forth this year’s scholars with the following charge: “The distinguished record you have made at TASIS has won for you membership in the Cum Laude Society. This Society is a fellowship of scholars whose purpose is to recognize excellence in academic work. As you pursue your education, it is our hope that you will accept the honor of membership in this Society as a responsibility to make a contribution to the ongoing search for greater understanding of humanity and society.”

The TASIS Cum Laude Society chapter now totals 38 members. The latest inductees join the 10 students honored in May of 2017 when TASIS became the first school in Switzerland to establish a chapter—Charlotte Colombo ’18, Hannah Gage ’17, Kirill Krupenin ’17, Aida Loggiodice ’17, Niccolo McConnell ’17, Adam Novak ’17, Bryan Soh ’18, Laura Vecoli ’17, Maria Vittoria Gallina Bognetti ’17, and Shu Ye ’18—the eight scholars inducted in 2018—Raffaella Alencar Barros ’19, Aurelia Dochnal ’19, Anastasia Kolesnikova ’18, Noah Plues ’18, Zeydan Rahman ’19, Alexander Secilmis ’19, Minjoon Seo ’19, and Mariko Yamada ’19—the seven students inducted in 2019—Alessandra Appiani ’20, Airi Barnes ’20 Virginia Italia ’19, Katherine Kelly ’19, Irene Lee ’19, Maria Mastronardi ’20, and Giulia Meregalli ’20—and the nine students added either last spring or this fall: Autumn Bachofen ’21, Ben Carlson-Peters ’21, Nadezhda Fartushnyak ’21, Nensi Hasanbelli ’20, Josh Hassan ’20, Paulina Karstens ’21, Ben Asher Marconi ’21, Omar Rahal ’20, and Matteo Riva ’21.

Cum Laude Society Motto

Excellence, Justice, Honor. Excellence includes the concept of excellence in the moral sense and is not limited to the ideal of superiority and scholarship, nor does it involve the endeavor of competing primarily for academic goals. Justice includes the concept of what is suitable and appropriate, as well as just. Honor includes the concept of dignity and truth, as well as honor.

Recent Posts