The American School in SwitzerlandThe American School in Switzerland
Six TASIS Students Inducted to Cum Laude Society Chapter

At the annual TASIS Academic Awards Assembly on the afternoon of May 20, Head of High School Academics Dr. Mark Abisi announced that six members of the Class of 2023—Susanna Campbell, Chongyi Feng, Spencer LeGresley, William Pacini, Eleonora Poli (not pictured above), and Luigi Rebuffo—have been inducted to the TASIS Cum Laude Society chapter. Congratulations to each of these fine young scholars for earning this prestigious honor.

Founded in 1906, the Cum Laude Society aims to promote learning and sound scholarship in secondary schools while recognizing exceptional scholastic achievement. Unlike the National Honor Society, which primarily works with public high schools in North America and strongly considers a student’s leadership, service, and character, the Cum Laude Society places its greatest emphasis on a student’s scholarly contributions to his or her school. 

Dr. Abisi, who serves as the President of the TASIS chapter, sent forth this year’s scholars with the following charge: “The distinguished record you have made at TASIS has won for you membership in the Cum Laude Society. This Society is a fellowship of scholars whose purpose is to recognize excellence in academic work. As you pursue your education, it is our hope that you will accept the honor of membership in this Society as a responsibility to make a contribution to the ongoing search for greater understanding of humanity and society.”

With the addition of these six outstanding scholars, the TASIS Cum Laude Society chapter now totals 44 members. The latest inductees join the following students:

2021 Inductees
Anastasia Besanidou ’22
Alejandra Cova ’22
Alexia Dochnal ’22
Maria Mochalnikova ’22

2020 Inductees
Autumn Bachofen ’21
Ben Carlson-Peters ’21
Nadezhda Fartushnyak ’21
Nensi Hasanbelli ’20
Josh Hassan ’20
Paulina Karstens ’21
Ben Asher Marconi ’21
Omar Rahal ’20
Matteo Riva ’21

2019 Inductees
Alessandra Appiani ’20
Airi Barnes ’20 
Virginia Italia ’19
Katherine Kelly ’19
Irene Lee ’19
Maria Mastronardi ’20
Giulia Meregalli ’20

2018 Inductees
Raffaella Alencar Barros ’19
Aurelia Dochnal ’19
Anastasia Kolesnikova ’18
Noah Plues ’18
Zeydan Rahman ’19
Alexander Secilmis ’19
Minjoon Seo ’19
Mariko Yamada ’19

2017 Inductees
Charlotte Colombo ’18
Hannah Gage ’17
Kirill Krupenin ’17
Aida Loggiodice ’17
Niccolo McConnell ’17
Adam Novak ’17
Bryan Soh ’18
Laura Vecoli ’17
Maria Vittoria Gallina Bognetti ’17
Shu Ye ’18


Cum Laude Society Motto

Excellence, Justice, Honor. Excellence includes the concept of excellence in the moral sense and is not limited to the ideal of superiority and scholarship, nor does it involve the endeavor of competing primarily for academic goals. Justice includes the concept of what is suitable and appropriate, as well as just. Honor includes the concept of dignity and truth, as well as honor.


Recent Posts